The King’s Speech and Other Oscar Winners

The King’s Speech was last night’s big winner at the Oscar’s, taking in Oscars for Best Picture, Director and Actor. I saw the film and thought it was a brilliant piece of cinema – very uplifting.  Below is a clip from the film and a list of last night’s winners. Bravo.

Best Picture

‘Black Swan’

‘The Fighter’


‘The Kids Are All Right’

‘The King’s Speech’ (winner)

‘127 Hours’

‘The Social Network’

‘Toy Story 3’

‘True Grit’

‘Winter’s Bone’

Best Actor

Javier Bardem – ‘Biutiful’

Jeff Bridges – ‘True Grit’

Jesse Eisenberg – ‘The Social Network’

Colin Firth – ‘The King’s Speech’ (winner)

James Franco – ‘127 Hours’

Best Actress

Annette Bening – ‘The Kids Are All Right’

Nicole Kidman – ‘Rabbit Hole’

Jennifer Lawrence – ‘Winter’s Bone’

Natalie Portman – ‘Black Swan’ (winner)

Michelle Williams – ‘Blue Valentine’

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky – ‘Black Swan’

David O. Russell – ‘The Fighter’

Tom Hooper- ‘The King’s Speech’ (winner)

David Fincher – ‘The Social Network’

Joel and Ethan Coen – ‘True Grit’

Best Original Song

‘Coming Home’ from ‘Country Strong’ – Music and Lyric by Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey

‘I See the Light’ from ‘Tangled’ – Music by Alan Menken Lyric by Glenn Slater

‘If I Rise’ from ‘127 Hours’ – Music by A.R. Rahman Lyric by Dido and Rollo Armstrong

‘We Belong Together’ from ‘Toy Story 3’ – Music and Lyric by Randy Newman (winner)

Best Film Editing

‘Black Swan’ – Andrew Weisblum

‘The Fighter’- Pamela Martin

‘The King’s Speech’ – Tariq Anwar

‘127 Hours’ – Jon Harris

‘The Social Network’ – Angus Wall & Kirk Baxter (winner)

Best Visual Effects

‘Alice in Wonderland’ – Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas & Sean Phillips

‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1’ – Tim Burke, John Richardson, Christian Manz & Nicolas Aithadi

‘Hereafter’ – Michael Owens, Bryan Grill, Stephan Trojanski & Joe Farrell

‘Inception’ – Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley & Peter Bebb (winner)

‘Iron Man 2’ – Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright & Daniel Sudick

Best Documentary Feature

‘Exit Through the Gift Shop’


‘Inside Job’ (winner)


‘Waste Land’

Best Short Film (Live Action)

‘The Confession’ – Tanel Toom

‘The Crush’ – Michael Creagh

‘God of Love’ – Luke Matheny (winner)

‘Na Wewe’ – Ivan Goldschmidt

‘Wish 143’ – Ian Barnes & Samantha Waite

Best Documentary (Short Subject)

‘Killing in the Name’

‘Poster Girl’

‘Strangers No More’ (winner)

‘Sun Comes Up’

‘The Warriors of Qiugang’

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams – ‘The Fighter’

Helena Bonham Carter- ‘The King’s Speech’

Melissa Leo – ‘The Fighter’ (winner)

Hailee Steinfeld – ‘True Grit’

Jacki Weaver – ‘Animal Kingdom’

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale – ‘The Fighter’ (winner)

John Hawkes – ‘Winter’s Bone’

Jeremy Renner – ‘The Town’

Mark Ruffalo – ‘The Kids Are All Right’

Geoffrey Rush – ‘The King’s Speech’

Best Original Screenplay

Mike Leigh – ‘Another Year’

Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson – ‘The Fighter’

Christopher Nolan – ‘Inception’

Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg – ‘The Kids Are All Right’

David Seidler – ‘The King’s Speech’ (winner)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy – ‘127 Hours’

Aaron Sorkin – ‘The Social Network’ (winner)

John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich – ‘Toy Story 3’

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen – ‘True Grit’

Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini – ‘Winter’s Bone’

Best Animated Feature Film

‘How to Train Your Dragon’


‘Toy Story 3’ (winner)

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More